D – Dance

a-to-z-letters-d[4][1]

When I think of the letter D, the first word that  comes to my mind  is Dance, probably  beacuse I love dancing and also love to watch people dance. It’s a great form of expression. I’ve never missed an opportunity since school days to participate in dance programmes. Our school had talented dancers and one among them was my school mate  Somnath Majumdar.

Bhangra
Bhangra

Each state of India has their own unique folk dance , but I enjoy watching the Bihu dance which is the folk dance of Assam and Bhangra, the folk dance of punjab. India is a hub of talented dancers. We have Shiamak Dawar, Prabhu Deva and Hrithik Roshan from Bollywood.  There are many styles and genres of dance. Among the foriegn forms of dancing  the tango, Salsa, Jive, Lambada are my favourites.  International dancers that have inspired me and many people are Michael Jackson, Jennifer Lopez, Shakira, Rihanna and many more.

Salsa
Salsa

Besides being a good form of expression, dancing has a lot of health benefits. It keeps the muscles and joints healthy and the brain active. It reduces stress levels to a great extent. I feel it’s the best form of excercise, beacuse while dancing you have the opportunity to listen to some good music and at the same time burn the extra calories. There are many who are getting enrolled in dance classes, thereby having the benefit of making  friends, socializing  and meeting people of common interests.

The entertainment  media is doing a good job by showcasing new talent by dance programmes like Dance India Dance. The famous movies on dance are Dirty dancing , Saturday Night Fever and the very recent Step up.

22 thoughts on “D – Dance

Add yours

  1. I love dancing. It’s so exhilarating. I watch Youtube dance videos and dance like crazy. Learnt classical Bharatnatyam, Salsa and Bollywood freestyle. Should learn more.

    Lovely, lovely post 🙂

  2. I love this medium of expression – so much vitality and force. I wish I could dance well but then in the haven of my home while cleaning, I end up dancing to the music that was meant to keep me humming while cleaning.

    My first time here.

    Joy always,
    Susan

  3. I love dance, by which I mean ‘watch’ other’s dance. That’s it. Then of course if I can make someone dance to my tunes…. well, I am not going to be unhappy about that 😉 Okay, I am just kidding. ;))

  4. Nice to know that you dance, I used to dance as a child, and later on I stopped, I am not really a dancer, but when my son came into my life, i joined him in his dancing, as he loved music and dance. Now I tried to dance with my daughter, she loves to dance the Bollywood style – I love watching prabhu deva, hrithik roshan and madhuri dixit on the dance floor ..

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

