Today I’m happy to feature Professor Fernando Pargas the author of  “Ending the  male leadership myth” and “Stopping Big Business and Politics from Bleeding America,”. He teaches management at James Madison University in Virginia. 

In his book  “Ending the  male leadership myth” he objectively describes about the male and female leadership qualities and brings out differences between the two.  The book talks about  the battle between the sexes, their relationship, the gender- specific needs and the partnership between them .

Author - Prof. Fernando Pargas
Author – Prof. Fernando Pargas

I was on top of the world when I came to know  that Professor was having a virtual book  tour and he wanted to make a stop at Diana’s musings.  I was so glad that he accepted the offer for an interview. Seizing the opportunity, I prepared a  set of questions for him. He’s answered each one of them beautifully. 

His specialties are international management, interpersonal skills and organizational behavior. He served on the US Chamber of Commerce International Policy Committee in Washington D.C. and the World Federation of Direct Selling. He was Vice President of International for Time Warner Inc., and Vice President of Production and Business affairs for Time Life Music. 

  Now, it’s time for the interview. Hope you all enjoy it.

1. Prof. Pargas what inspired you to write the Book ‘ Ending the male leadership myth’?

 In my career as an International Executive working around the world I found that women are very well suited for those skills that make for transformational leadership, yet, when I brought up in my university management classes that there are a number of recent studies “proving” that women make for better leadership in the business world, many of my students (particularly males) were incredulous.  It made me think that many people are not aware of women’s great leadership attributes and that we men needed a wakeup call.  That inspired me to write the book.

 2) What challenges did you face and overcome while completing this book?

Only the comments and looks of “you traitor” from some of my male friends.  It was humorous.  I also knew that there would be push back from both men and women who may not want to hear what I had to say.  I learned from my mother from a young age that what others think isn’t all that important, it’s all about what YOU think of YOU.

3) Who are the two most influential  and inspiring women in your life and why?

My mother is one of the most inspiring and amazing women I have met.  She taught me to consider the opinions of others with neutrality and the ego in check, but only as opinions and nothing else.  She always did as she saw fit without caring too much for what others had to say.  My wife Mary is an example of strength as well as spirituality and compassion.  This has been inspiring to me because it taught me that strength is not divorced from peace, compassion and level-headedness.

4)  What qualities do women have that set them apart from men? Do you think women have great leadership qualities?

Women have all the makings for great leadership. A number of studies were compiled by BusinessWeek and in one such study of 425 high-level executives, women won higher ratings on 42 of the 52 leadership skills measured.  Women are better listeners, and appear to have an edge in: relationship building, interpersonal skills, problem solving, inclusion, and have better control of the ego.   As society and business are changing, these are the skills that are creating a better society but also sustainable and long-term profitable businesses.

5) Name your favourite Author and the reasons for choosing him or her.

My favorite author is John Kennedy Toole for his book: “A Confederacy of Dunces.”  What I like about that book is that it pokes fun at society and our human condition exposing the silliness of our many biases.  It’s hilarious.  Unfortunately for the literary world, Mr. Toole took his life before the book was even published.

6)  Prof. Pargas being a great writer yourself, what tips would you like to share with aspiring writers?

I do not consider myself a great writer, in fact, I am pretty sure that I am not.  I do love writing for many reasons, however, and I even find it therapeutic.  What I do well when I write is that I establish a routine and a goal of so many pages per day.  If I miss a day because life gets in the way I have to make it up by the end of the week.  I also look for a topic that I can be passionate about, which totally eliminates writer’s block (I have the opposite problem, I have too much to write down and research which creates some disjointed writing and a headache for my publisher, who should get the credit for much of what flows and makes sense in my books).

Professor you are an inspiration not only to all the women but also set a great example to the men around the world. Thank you so much.

I request my readers to read “Ending the Male Leadership Myth”  Published by Beckham Publications Group.

Please share your views on the interview. I would love to hear them.

