Home sweet home

Home is where the heart is.  It’s a place where you can relax, be comfortable,  savour the surroundings and just be yourself. If  I have to describe our home in two words it would be simple and classic.  However, I  feel that there is a lot of work that still needs to be done and  many changes that still need to be made.  We’ve decided to make the changes when our son grows a little older. Right now he is in a stage where he loves to scribble on walls and make a mess whenever possible.

The coziest part of  our home is the lounge room where we watch movies. It  has a door  that connects to the balcony. When the door is left open, the gush of breeze into the room is relaxing. I can read, watch a nice movie or grab a hot cup of tea and savour the moment here.   There is no doubt that the decorative articles beautify the house.  There are numerous articles at home which are close to my heart. I’ve listed some of my favourite items here.

*  The Papyrus painting –  This was picked up during an egyptian art exhibition which was held in Bangalore many years back. It’s made of Papyrus (Paper).  It’s hung up on the wall in the lounge room and it adds to the beauty of the room. The vibrant colours orange and green brightens  up the room.  I love egyptian art and go bonkers over it.  There is something about them that is so fascinating.  

egyptian

*  The hookah stands tall in our living room. Though we’ve placed it in the corner it adds to the charm of  the room. This was again picked up from the same egyptian exhibition. The lower part of the hookah is made of glass which is blue in colour with intricate golden designs on it.

Hookah

*   I love musical instruments and there’s something classy about them. We have an Irish flute placed in the corner of our bar. It has a black and cream combination of colours. It is sleek and the music emitted from it is breath taking.

Irish black flute

*  The scottish painting is another favourite of mine. It was gifted by a family friend who lives in Scotland.  The painting shows a man playing the bagpiper. He’s wearing the traditional scottish dress also known as the highland dress.  The painting also shows the different locations of scotland.

scottish painting

The words in the painting are as follows :

Westering home, and a song in the air,

light in the eye and its goodbye to care;

laughter o’love

and a welcoming there;

Isle of my heart

my own one !

*  I love the bar area in our living room.  The stained glass painting is what attracts me the most. The work is classy and colourful.  It shows a couple of cowboys in a bar having a drink around a table.  Again I just love the colour combinations here.

stained glass

*  Altar a must in every Christian family. I love spending time here.  A place where I find peace and solace. It has a  red light that keeps flickering throughout the day and night.

alter

*  Last but not the least a small wooden ship picked up in Mauritius. To me this ship symbolises love and friendship as this was picked up during our honeymoon. It holds a special place in my heart.

ship

Hope you all liked the items I’ve shared here. I’d love to hear your views in the comment section. 

I am taking part in The Write Tribe Festival of Words 1st – 7th September 2013. Write tribe

write tribe

26 thoughts on “Home sweet home

Add yours

  1. I love the stained glass painting of the cowboys and the Egyptian artwork you have at your place…I find it amazing how things like help liven up rooms and for some reason help make a house a home….looking forward to tomorrow’s post Diana 🙂

    1. Thanks a lot Preeti welcome to my Blog 🙂 Glad you liked the stained glass painting and the egyptian artwork. Very true beautiful things liven up the room and the people at home also make a lot of difference.Looking forward to your posts. Good luck Preeti 🙂

      1. The people at home do make all the difference…that’s totally true…I didn’t realize I just discounted their presence in my comment on your post until you just mentioned it! 😐
        Hoping to be a frequent visitor to your blog and hoping to see you at mine too 🙂

  2. I love the stained glass – so colourful and pretty. The flute is one of my favourite instruments. I wish I had learned how to play it. Good luck with the festival. I’m taking part too.

  3. It is amazing how every single thing in our homes has a memory attached to it. Lovely stained glass painting. I loved that hookah. I wanted to buy one from Istanbul, but it was a working hookah and not a show piece, even though it was small in size! I have Egyptian Papyrus paintings too at home. 🙂

    1. Yes sometimes things hold sentimental value especially if you see them at home for years. Good to know that you have Egyptian paintings too Jyoti. The Hookah we have is a working hookah too. It can be used by adding water and tobacco. The smaller ones are cute too.

  4. Beautiful artifacts you have and the memories/thoughts associated with them are so very precious and beautiful. Love the Egyptian Papyrus and the stained glass near the bar… awesome 🙂

  5. Loved and admired all the things in your home but the hookah , is something I never imagined to be kept as a showpiece. I had always seem them in show-rooms but this is a novel idea. The things kept in our homes are not just inanimate objects but reflect our love and longing. and there is a sentiment behind every object collected.

    1. I agree Hookah as a show piece is not very common. Since we loved the look of it we decided to keep it as a show piece. Sometimes you do get attached to the things at home and they become close to our hearts.

  6. Wooh, thanks for treating us to the sights of your home, dear Diana. Beautiful artifacts, I must say and after seeing this I want to visit your home. Some day . . .

    All the best for the remainder Sevens.

    Joy always,
    Susan

  7. Ur home surely looks radiant and colorful also classy
    Your taste is good. I too loved the paintings and color combinations. !
    I jst loved the egyptian painting 🙂
    Lookng forward to read cool posts thru out the week Diana

    hav fun

      1. Thanks yaa! Will move out next year and thinking of Dubai/ Qatar option. Dunno whether will relocate to India with the economy reaching a low. so let’s see! Yeah, it’s a good momento to give:)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

