Standing Up For Better Mental Health

In a country where seeking professional help for mental health is looked down upon, how does being a counsellor look? We speak to Genevive Angela, a counsellor for young adults and women, to find out.

In this series, BriefCase, we will be meeting women at work in different fields, in different roles, to gain insight into their lives and work. With more women joining (or aspiring to) join the paid workforce, we live in exciting times, and this is an attempt to chronicle those times, one life at a time.

With many feathers in her cap – ranging from working with young adults at Osmania University to research on counselling for domestic violence to working in initiatives in the space of education and violence against women – Genevive Angela works in a field that is still not given its due. In conversation with the mental health professional who is up against several societal taboos in India:

How would you describe yourself?

I think of myself as a compassionate, enthusiastic, and solution-oriented person, providing care for young adults and women experiencing any kind of mental/emotional health issue. I’m also a dedicated and devoted wife, mother, sister, friend, and a perpetual learner; living a life of gratitude.

Why did you choose this field?

As a youth, I too faced a lot of difficulties. I struggled to deal with my own psychological issues of low self-concept, zero confidence in myself, and absolutely no goal and motivation to do anything worthwhile.

I was rescued and reached out to by so many different persons who were my guides, mentors, and counsellors – who taught  me to believe in myself, valued and encouraged me in not only finding myself but also helped me  find meaning in my work.

My choice to work in this field is a response – to share with gratitude what I have received, and pay it forward to make a difference in the lives of those I meet…..continue reading at Women’s Web

Note : This post was first published in Women’s Web.

 

One thought on “Standing Up For Better Mental Health

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

